Mölnlycke Health Care Wound Academy: 2016 Winners

Mölnlycke Health Care Wound Academy: 2016 Winners

June 20 2016

Mölnlycke Health Care are pleased to recognise excellence in wound care, and announce the winners of the Wound Academy Scholarship and Awards lunch, held in London on the 19th May 2015. Dr David Foster, Head of the Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Professions Policy Unit at the Department of Health presented the winners with their certificates.

The 2016 Novice Scholarship Award was presented to Lauren Thorpe, Wound Care Sister at Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership Trust. Lauren has recently transitioned from a District Nurse role, into Tissue Viability after being inspired by the work of the Tissue Viability teams she has worked with throughout her career. The judging team were impressed by a project Lauren and her team have undertaken to support District Nurses by integrating their teams to support best practice, with a reduction in pressure ulcers and improved clinical assessments and treatment for patients.

In the Innovations in Care Award for Radiotherapy was awarded to Kate Cooper, a Macmillan Specialist Radiographer from Musgrove Park Hospital in Somerset. Kate’s entry detailed an unprecedented radiotherapy reaction following the completion of radiotherapy, thought to be caused by unrelated medication. As a result of this incident, the radiotherapy team are more aware of potential interactions and protocols, with policies amended to avoid future reactions and improve communications between outlying hospitals and departments.

The winners in the Innovations in Care Award for Pressure Ulcers were the University Hospital Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Tissue Viability Team, whose submission centred on the use of ‘Sally Sore’ within their departments, which is aimed to educate and promote thorough pressure area care and help reduce avoidable pressure ulcers. The campaign has educated over 1000 staff within the hospital, as well as having its only Twitter account (@SallySore).

Finally, a Highly Commended Award for Innovations in Service Delivery was awarded to Linda Whiting, Lead Tissue Viability Nurse, Jo Constant and Liz Ettridge from Medway Community Healthcare and Hayley Jones from Medway Foundation Trust. For the past two years, Medway Community Healthcare Tissue Viability Team and Medway Foundation Trust have been working together to educate patients, carers and Health Care Professionals by developing a ‘Pressure Ulcer Passport’ in collaboration with a wider pressure damage improvement group, to help facilitate effective and efficient transfer of patients between the two organisations.

The Wound Academy Scholarship and Awards celebrate Health Care Professionals working within wound care management areas for contributing to and encouraging innovation within wound care practice. Now in its 15th year, winners of the scholarships and awards benefit from a bursary and mentorship through the academy, enabling them to continue their personal and professional development.

For further information, please contact:

Lucy Catlin, Marketing Communications Manager for Mölnlycke Health Care